ElectroClassic EV
Classic Cars Reborn into the Electric Future

The Red Shoes

Brakes in a box.

Here are the disc brake calipers for all four wheels, resting in the box I used to carry them home from Otto’s Porsche in Venice.  I hired Otto’s to rebuild the brakes because they have way more experience than me, and they also have a bead-blaster to get them spotlessly clean.  After blasting, the metal is so exposed that it will begin to rust within a few days if not immediately painted.

The angels want to wear them.

So that’s what I did.  The G2 Caliper Paint System I ordered from HubcapsPlus.com is a true epoxy paint, which requires stirring in a hardener just before use, and in this case is brushed on rather than sprayed.  Seriously, the fumes alone would knock out a horse, so you need to provide good ventilation.  The picture above shows the calipers with two coats of epoxy paint on the outsides.  Once they’ve cured, I’ll put another two coats on the undersides and then take them back to Otto’s for reassembly with the rebuild kits I purchased online.  Finally, I’ll bring them home and install them on the wheels.  It’s ironic that the finished brakes will hardly get used due to the regenerative braking, but they’ll sure look sweet through the slots on my rims!

5 Responses to “The Red Shoes”

  1. The meticulousness of this adventure will assure a beautiful automobile upon completion worthy of placement in any car show.

    Enjoy!

    Metz

    • Thanks. This whole restoration by nature is just a bit retentive, but I don’t lose sleep over it, and I take my time so that I’m always having fun. I appreciate your comment.

  2. This will undoubtedly be one of the sharpest, scariest cars in town–a Ferrari slayer

    epoxy paint is very nasty, my brother used to paint bike frames with Corlar, with no respirator

    years back, protected only by goggles and carbon respirator I sprayed 2 claw-foot tubs with epoxy poison–it was ugly

    thanks for posting this. It’s inspiring me to get the old 356 roadworthy
    No bare-metal restoration–I haven’t patience nor organizational skills!

  3. You can always pay somebody else to have the patience (if you can afford it). Interesting to note that the red paint you see above in the wet state looks exactly the same after it hardens – lipstick gloss. I was smelling the paint in my brain the entire next day, which was nauseating.

  4. […] and formidable task is a total reassembly of the brake system.  All four brake calipers had previously been rebuilt, but after a number of frustrations during the install, I called Eric at PMB […]


Leave a Reply

