ElectroClassic EV
Classic Cars Reborn into the Electric Future

Sweet 75

Driving down Sepulveda through Manhattan Beach, my head spun when I glanced a sweet yellow 914 in the parking lot of a small hotel.  Of course I swung the car around to take a second look at the best example of my finished car, especially the exact shade of yellow that has been lurking in my mind’s eye.  It turns out the owner is a guy named Peter who flew to LA to pick up a couple classic Porsches he bought online to ship back to Germany.  He bought this one in Burbank – not to resell, but to keep.  Very clean and stock looking.  I particularly like the chrome rack on the back hood (also something I had pictured).  Meanwhile, I’m still wrestling with schemes to either paint first, or install the transaxle and motor first.  I have bigger fish to fry in the short term.  Oh yeah – Still having fun.

3 Responses to “Sweet 75”

  1. I think the 2.0 had the Porsche engine v. the Volkswagen engine. Always loved this car… mid engined, very impractical, but fun.

    • Maybe impractical for a gas engine, but perfect for a zero maintenance electric motor. I can’t wait to see the jaws drop as I pop the motor bay deck lid to reveal a bank of lithium batteries. I’m thinking about mounting an ooo-gah trumpet horn in the bumper notch previously occupied by the tail pipe.

  2. I think that you should install 2 huge bore pipes under the rear bumper attached to your stereo while playing “The Ride of The Valkyries” at full volume – Man – it brings a tear to my eye!


Leave a Reply

