ElectroClassic EV
Classic Cars Reborn into the Electric Future

Undercoat Shootout


Which of these is the best product? Are all rubberized undercoats the same? More on that in a minute.

I was up early Saturday morning putting the car in the air and getting it ready for undercoating. Steve at Cal Blast did a great job stripping the car down to metal, but since I didn’t remove the suspension, he couldn’t use a rotisserie. So creeping under the car with gloves, goggles and a wire brush, I scrubbed the undercarriage of any remaining loose dirt that the soda blasting missed. Then I used newspaper and tape to mask off parts of the car that didn’t require undercoating, and began to spray. The original three cans of 3M Rubberized Undercoating I bought for this task didn’t go very far. Luckily, my Black Rock buddy Zen was on hand to help me locate a total of six more at three different Auto Zone stores. By the time I finished the rear undercarriage and both rear wheel wells, all six cans were gone!

Every auto body dude in town had good things to say about 3M products, so I didn’t want to waste time on anything else. Unfortunately, I had cleaned the city of 3M undercoating the previous day, and I had zero luck finding it on Sunday. However, there were shelf-loads of Dupli-Color and Permatex available, so I buckled and decided to broaden my undercoat ouvre. The three cans I purchased finished off both left and right rocker panels. The Permatex acted identically to the 3M (especially those yummy fumes that ruin your appetite for hours). The Dupli-Color looked and sprayed the same as the others, but took longer to dry. I checked it a few hours later and it was still damp. I’ll know in a day or two if it hardens as advertised.

You’ll notice in the pictures below that I decided to undercoat the entire rocker step. In the end, it will be covered by the step kick plate and rocker cover, so it won’t show. East coast winters have installed paranoid buttons in me about rust, so the undercoating craziness hasn’t ended yet. I still have to coat the main underbody, both front wheel wells, inside the door window wells, and possibly the floor pans and trunk floors. Crazy? We’ll see. I’m hoping all of the sound-deadening will make it one of the quietest rides in town.

For now, the jury is out on the rubberized undercoating shootout. I welcome any experiences, opinions, or even some real knowledge on the matter.

**Update – Crazily enough, I stumbled on another undercoating shootout using the same WordPress blog template that I’m using here. It took a few seconds to convince myself they hadn’t pirated my blog. What’s even crazier is that it was posted by the Maui EV Electric Car Company!

5 Responses to “Undercoat Shootout”

  1. Brems:

    Looking at the photo of the front and rear shocks/struts, have you thought about upgrading to something that will handle all the additional weight the car will have with the batteries?

  2. Good point. In actuality, there will be no additional weight. Since I will be using LiFePO4 (Lithium Iron Phosphate) batteries, the most weight the pak will add is 300lbs, about what I lose by removing the gas engine. The equivalent voltage in FLA (flooded lead acid) car batteries would add half a ton or more. I’m looking for further developments in EV battery technology not to drop the battery weight much more, but to dramatically increase the range. It really is inevitable.

  3. These guys have undercoating. There’s one downtown 24th and Grand. I buy supplies from them occasionally. Your car looks great.

    Finishmaster
    1501 Broadway Street
    Santa Monica, CA 90404-2717
    (310) 451-5936

  4. Thanks Joe. The guys at Finishmasters in SM were helpful, but didn’t really seem up on any other products outside of 3M. Not such an issue, because 3M gets pretty high marks from all the car paint and body dudes city-wide.

  5. […] undercoating in the shot above which should work fine.  Here’s a link to my earlier undercoating shootout, and another conducted by Maui Electric […]


Leave a Reply

